Worktray Management

Worktrays can be a fantastic tool for ensuring that Project Tasks are completed quickly and efficiently. Worktray Management is the first step in utilizing Worktrays; here, new Worktrays can be created, and a team of Employees can be added to the Worktray, giving them the ability to work with any Tasks contained in it.

 

Tier Availability: Business
Security Rights Required: Maintenance

 

Article Contents

 

 


 

Overview

 

Worktrays are used in conjunction with Projects to help ensure that Tasks are completed by relevant Employees. Sometimes, there is a specific person—such as a Plan Administrator—who will be primarily responsible for working on and completing Project Task. Other times, a team of people—say, an Accounting team—are equally able to perform the required work. Rather than assigning the Task to a single individual, it can be assigned to a Worktray, allowing any member of that team to complete the Task.

 

Think of a Worktray like a queue line at a retail store; any cashier is equally able to assist the next customer in line.

 

As many Worktrays can be created as necessary, and any number of Employees can be added to each Worktray. Every Worktray Employee is either a Member or a Leader, which governs what they are allowed to do with Worktray Tasks.

 

This article only details the creation and management of Worktrays. For more information on working with Projects and Tasks in relation to Worktrays, refer to the following articles:

 

 


 

Adding & Editing Worktrays

 

A Worktray must be created in Worktray Management before it can be used for Task assignment. To access Worktray Management, navigate to Maintenance > Worktray Management.

 

The Worktray Management grid contains all active Worktrays. Hover over a Worktray to display the Editedit.png option on the right-hand side.

 

To create a new Worktray, select Addadd.png at the top-right of the grid. Add a Worktray Name, then select Save.

 

Note: The individual creating the Worktray will be added to the Worktray as a Leader Role; see the section Managing Worktray Employees, below.

 

A Worktray cannot be deleted once it has been added; however, Worktrays that are no longer needed may be deactivated by selecting Editedit.png and deselecting the Active option. Inactive Worktrays are hidden from the grid by default, but can be viewed by selecting Moremore_options.png > Show Inactive.

 

Warning: If the deactivated Worktray is set as any Employee's Default Worktray, Worktray will be removed from their Default Tabs. For more information on these settings, refer to the Employee Preferences section of the article The Employee Tab.

 


 

Managing Worktray Employees

 

After a Worktray has been created, Employees must be added to it. This determines which Employees are able to view the Worktray and what Role they will serve. Two Roles are available:

 

  • Member: A Worktray Member can view the Worktray Dashboard and assign its Tasks to themself for completion.
  • Leader: A Worktray Leader has the same capabilities as a Member, but can also assign and reassign Tasks to other Worktray Employees.

 

Note: A Worktray Leader does not need any additional Security Rights for reassigning Tasks; however, they are limited to the Tasks currently in the Worktray.

 

Employees can be added to and removed from each Worktray directly via Worktray Management. Alternately, it's possible to manage all Worktrays for a single Employee; this is accomplished on the Employee tab.

 


 

Via Worktray Management

 

To get started, double-click on any Worktray in the Worktray Management grid to open it. The Worktray grid displays any Employees that have already been added to that Worktray, as well as their Role within it.

 

To add Worktray Employees:

 

  1. Select Addadd.png at the top-right of the grid. The Add Employee window displays.
  2. Use the Employee dropdown to select the desired Employee(s). Multiple Employees may be added.
    • Optionally, use Add All Employees to quickly select all active Employees.
  3. Select a Role.
    • Only one Role can be selected at a time. If adding multiple Employees to multiple Roles, repeat this process for the second Role.
  4. Select Save.

 

Once an Employee has been added to the Worktray, hovering over their name in the Worktray grid displays the Editedit.png and Deletedelete.png options on the right-hand side.

 

Note: To prevent Tasks from becoming inaccessible, an active Worktray requires at least one Employee at all times; it is not possible to delete the last Employee from an active Worktray. This restriction does not apply to inactive Worktrays.

 


 

Via the Employee Tab

 

Security Rights Required: Add/Edit Employee

 

First, open the desired Employee in a new Employee tab, then select the Worktrays view from the list on the left. The Worktray grid displays all Worktrays the Employee has been added to, along with the Employee's Role for each.

 

To add the Employee to new Worktrays:

 

  1. Select Addadd.png at the top-right of the grid. The Add Worktray window displays.
  2. (optional) Use Copy from Employee to copy the Worktray assignments of another Employee. If using this option, skip steps 3 and 4.
    • The Employee's existing Worktray assignments will not be altered if this method is used.
  3. Use the Worktray dropdown to select the desired Worktray(s). Multiple Worktrays may be chosen.
    • Optionally, use Add All Worktrays to quickly add the Employee to all active Worktrays.
  4. Select a Role.
    • Only one Role can be selected at a time. If adding the Employee to multiple Worktrays as different Roles, repeat this process for the second Role.
  5. Select Save.

 

Once a Worktray is added, hovering over it in the grid displays the Editedit.png and Deletedelete.png options on the right-hand side.

 

Note: The Employee cannot be removed from an active Worktray if it would result in the Worktray having no Employees.

 


 

Reassigning Project Template Worktrays

 

Once a Worktray is created, it can be used in any new and existing Project Templates for Task assignments. When it comes time to deactivate an outdated Worktray, however, it may be referenced by dozens of Templates. Instead of altering Project Templates individually, PensionPro provides the ability to update a Worktray for any affected Templates. To do this:

 

  1. Navigate to Worktray Management, then double-click to open the outdated Worktray.
  2. Select Moremore_options.png > Reassign All Tasks In Templates. The corresponding window displays.
    • If this option is grayed out, PensionPro has detected that there are no Tasks to reassign.
  3. Select the new Worktray Name.
  4. Select Save. A confirmation detailing the number of updated Tasks will be displayed; select Save again to complete the reassignment.

 

Upon completion, any Project Templates referencing the old Worktray will be updated to reference the new Worktray instead. Inactive Project Templates will not be affected. Additionally, this will not affect Task assignments for Projects launched prior to this action.