PensionPro 2.0 - Adding, Reassigning, Deactivating, and Deleting Plans

In PensionPro, Plans are where the magic happens. Projects, Roles, Plan Cycles, Documents, Specifications—they all serve the Plan in some way. Before any of these features can be utilized, however, a Plan must first be created.

 

Tier Availability: Core, Track, Essential, Team, Premium, Business

Security Rights Required:  Add/Edit Plan

 

Note: Some features may not be available in all tiers.

 

Table of Contents

 

 

 

Adding a Plan

Plans can be added in a number of ways. Users can add Plans from the Navigation Panel, from the Plans view of the Client tab, or via import.

 

Note: During the adding Plan information, many input fields populate their dropdown options by pulling in List Values. More information on List Values can be found in the article Maintaining List Values.
Note: All fields in the Add Plan window are required fields.

 

  1. Use one of the following methods to open the Add Plan Window:
    • From the Navigation Panel, select Add Data > Plan.
    • In the Client tab, open the Plans view, then select Addadd.png to the top-right of the grid.
  2. Type the first few letters of the Client’s name into the Client Name field and select the appropriate result from the list that appears beneath the field.
    • If adding a Plan directly from a Client tab, the Client Name field will not be available.
    • If the Client does not exist in PensionPro, it must be created before the Plan can be added.
  3. Enter the name of the plan in the Legal Plan Name field.
  4. Select a Plan Type.
    • Plan Type is a List Value.
  5. Enter the Effective Date of Service for the Plan. This is the date the user's firm's services are effective for the Plan.
  6. Enter the Month and Day for the Plan Year Month End and Plan Year Day End fields.
  7. Select the Admin Type.
    • Admin Type is a List Value.
  8. Select Save.
    • Alternately, select the dropdown arrow on the Save button and select Save and Open. This will create the Plan and open a Plan tab to display the new record.

 

 

Importing Plans

Multiple Clients and Plans can be imported into PensionPro at once via the use of a preformatted import template. For more information and a copy of the import template, refer to the article Importing Client and Plan Data.

 

 

 

Reassigning a Plan to a New Client

Plans are created for and assigned to Clients. When necessary, the Plan can be transferred from one Client to another.

 

Note: The Client that the Plan is being reassigned to will need to be created prior to completing the following steps.

 

  1.  Navigate to the Client tab of the Client that the Plan is assigned to. To reach this tab easily, locate the header of the Plan tab, above the grid view; the header shows "[Client Name], [Plan Name]". Select the Client Name to open the Client tab.
  2. Open the Plan view.
  3. Hover over the desired Plan record in the grid, then select Editedit.png on the right.
  4. In the Edit Plan to Client Assignment popup window, use the Reassign Plan to new Client field to search for the Client that the Plan should be reassigned to.
  5. Select Save.

 

 

 

Deactivating a Plan

When required, a Plan can be designated as Deactivated within PensionPro. As opposed to deleting a Plan, deactivation has the advantage of retaining all Projects, Files, and Interaction history associated with that Plan. A deactivated Plan will not appear in any search results, unless the Show Deactivated/Closed option is enabled in Search Preferences.

 

Warning: In order to deactivate a Plan, any active Projects or Data Collections under that Plan must be completed. Plan deactivation will also prevent new Projects from being launched.

 

  1. From the General view of the Plan tab, select Editedit.png
  2. Select the appropriate option for the Status field from the dropdown menu.
  3. Enter a date into the Terminated On field, or select Calendarcalendar.png and choose a date.
  4. If desired, select the applicable Terminated Reason from the dropdown menu.
  5. Select the Deactivate for All Activity checkbox. 
  6. Select Save.

 

Once a Plan is deactivated, PSL and Distributions for that Plan will be disabled if they were previously enabled. Users on PlanSponsorLink will no longer be able to see any files or reports uploaded to PlanSponsorLink for this plan.

 

 

 

Reactivating a Plan

  1. From the General view of the Plan tab, select Editedit.png 
  2. Select the Active checkbox.
  3. Select Save.

 

Note: The PSL Enabled and Distributions Enabled options remained disabled, even after the Plan is reactivated. If these options are necessary, they must be re-enabled manually under GeneralEditedit.png

 

 

 

Deleting a Plan

Additional Security Rights Required:  Maintenance

 

Deactivating a Plan is recommended over deleting it, as a deactivated Plan retains Project records and other data; deleted Plans are removed permanently. However, if the deletion of a Plan is necessary, follow these steps:

 

  1. From the General view of the Plan tab, select Editedit.png 
  2. In the Edit General Plan Information popup window, select the Marked for Deletion checkbox.
  3. Select Save.
  4. From the Navigation Panel, select Maintenance > Data Deletion
  5. Select Plans from the Views panel. Plans marked for deletion will appear in the grid.
  6. Hover over a Plan to highlight the record and select Deletedelete.png 
  7. Select Yes to confirm the deletion.

 

Warning: A Plan cannot be deleted if any Projects are linked to it.

 

 

 

Frequently Asked Questions

  • I want to deactivate a Plan, but I have a Project open that won't allow me to deactivate the Plan. In order to deactivate a Plan, all Projects must be completed. Complete the rest of the Project—as well as any others, if necessary—and the Plan can then be deactivated. Make sure to update any Plan Status, Terminated On, and Termination Reason fields prior to deactivating the Plan.
  • Does adding a Terminated On date deactivate a Plan? No. To deactivate a Plan, ensure that any Projects for the Plan have been completed, then select the checkbox labelled Deactivate for All Activity.