PensionPro 2.0 - Adding Employee Details

This article will review Employee Details, including where to find details listed, including a breakdown of what the details mean. Users can also find information on how to change their Login Names, Passwords, and Signatures.

 

Tier Availability: Track, Core, Essential, Premium, Team, Business

Security Rights Required: Add/Edit Employee (Not required on the Account Tab)

  Note: Tabs and fields will vary depending on the tier the user is on.

Menu:

Employee Details are divided into four separate menus. They are the Home, Locations, Security Rights, and Account menus. Below is a summary of each menu along with their functions.

 

Access Employee Details

  1. Use the Search feature to search for the employee.
  2. Expand the Employees dropdown and double-click the employee's name.

Users can access their own employee detail information by clicking the User Profile icon >  View My Account.

Users do not need security rights to view and edit their own information within the Account menu. The Home, Locations and Security Rights menus do require the user to have the Add/Edit Employees security right to see them.

 

To Edit Employee Details

  1. After navigating to the employee's record, select the appropriate employee details menu.
    • Users can select the following:
      • Home
        • Displays General Employee Information.
      • Locations
        • Displays Location Right(s) assigned to the Employee.
      • Security Rights
        • Displays Security Rights assigned to the Employee.
      • Account
        • Displays the user's Login Name, Help Desk access, and Employee Signature.
      • Preferences (Business Tier users only)
        • If Email Notifications are enabled for user control, displays which actions trigger an Email Notification.
  2. Click the Edit icon in the upper right corner of the grid.
  3. Make desired changes.
  4. Click Save.

 

Home 

The Home menu displays General Employee Information, such as their active status, date of birth, date of hire, and date of termination.

  • Contact: The blue hyperlink of the employee's name directs the user to that employee's Contact Details screen where address, number, email, and other information can be updated.
  • Active: Displays whether the Employee is active or not. Employees without the Active checkbox marked will not be able to log into the System.
  • Show on PSL: Displays if the employee should appear on PlanSponsorLink for any internal Plan(s) if PlanSponsorLink services are enabled.
  • DOB: The employee's date of birth.
  • DOH: Date of hire for the employee.
  • DOT: Date of termination for the employee.
  • Employee ID: Employee ID is the number associated with the Employee’s records on file. These numbers could be listed on badges, key cards, etc.
  • Billing rate: If an employee’s time can be a billable expense, Billing Rate is the employee's charge per hour of work.
  • Employee cost: Employee cost is the assigned salary or hourly rate an employee costs the company.
  • Hourly overhead cost: A firm’s actual or budgeted cost for fixed costs associated with day-to-day operations.
  • Part Time: This is a Yes/No field that tracks if the employee works part-time.
  • Admin Task Performer: This is a Yes/No field that tracks if the employee performs administration tasks for plans.
  • Payroll ID: An identifier for the employee for payroll items.

 

Locations 

Whenever a Client is created in the PensionPro, that Client must be associated with a Location. Locations act as a security right so that only employees assigned to the corresponding Location right can see Clients and Plans linked to that Location.

This tab displays the Location rights the employee has access to. The employee will only be able to see client and plan information for Locations they have access to.

To Add a Location Right:

  1. Click the Add icon in the upper right corner of the Employee Location Rights grid.
  2. Select a Location from the Location dropdown menu.
  3. Click Save.

To Delete a Location Right:

  1. Hover over a Location to highlight it.
  2. Click the Delete icon.
  3. Click Yes to confirm the deletion.

To find more information regarding Locations, please refer to our article Using Firms and Locations.

 

Security Rights 

The Security Rights menu provides a list of any security rights that are assigned to the employee. Users can add/edit/or delete rights, maintaining what the employee has access to in PensionPro.

For a full list of security rights and how to add, and delete those rights, please refer to our article Adding Employees and Security Rights.

 

Account 

The Account menu is where users can edit an employee's login name, password, access to the Help Center, and Signature. Employees do not need any rights to view or edit their own account information.

To edit an employee’s account details:

  1. Click the Edit icon in the upper right corner of the Account Information grid.
  2. Make desired changes.
  3. Click Save.

Login Name: This is the username the employee will use when logging into PensionPro. Typically it is the employee's email address. The login name cannot match another user's login name.

Signature: Users can add a signature for employees to display their email address, phone extensions, etc which can be seen in sent communications when using PensionPro such as Blast Email.

Updating Passwords

Employees can update their password from the Account Information grid.

  1. Click the Edit icon in the upper right corner of the Account Information grid.
  2. Click the Update Password checkbox.
  3. Enter the old password, update the new password and confirm the new password.
  4. Click Save when complete.

Note: The password chosen is the password that will be used to log in to the PensionPro. This password does not need to be the same as the password used for logging into the Help Center. Changes to PensionPro credentials do not affect the user's Help Center credentials. For more information on resetting Help Center credentials, please click here.

 

Preferences 

The Preferences menu is where users can edit their Email Notification and User Experience preferences. Employees do not need any rights to view or edit their own preferences information.

Tier Availability: Track, Team, Business

Updating User Preferences

  1. Click the User Profile icon > My Account.
  2. Click the Preferences menu.
    • Users can select the User Experience or Email Notification sub-menus.
  3. Click the Edit icon in the upper right corner of the grid.
    • If Enable User Control is marked No in the Maintenance > Preferences PensionPro > Preference Type: Notifications, the remaining email notification switches will read Controlled by Firm and will NOT be able to be edited.
  4. Edit the desired preferences within the appropriate sub-menu.
  5. Click Save.

User Preferences

Below is a list and description of individual User Preferences for Email Notifications.

  • Email Notifications: Allows the user to receive and configure email notifications from PensionPro. This preference must be set to 'yes' in order to receive any email notifications.
  • Prospect Assignment Email Notification: This preference must be set to 'yes' in order to receive an email notification when a prospect is assigned to the user.
  • Proposal Assignment Email Notification: This preference must be set to 'yes' in order to receive an email notification when a proposal is assigned to the user.
  • Task Reassignment Email Notification: This preference must be set to 'yes' in order to receive an email notification when a task is reassigned to the user.
  • Task Activation Email Notification: This preference must be set to 'yes' in order to receive an email notification when a task is created and assigned to the user.
  • To-Do Reassignment Email Notification: This preference must be set to 'yes' in order to receive an email notification when a To-Do is reassigned to the user.
  • Worktray Reassignment Email Notification: This preference must be set to 'yes' in order to receive an email notification when a task is reassigned to the Team/Worktray.
  • Worktray Task Activation Email Notification: This preference must be set to 'yes' in order to receive an email notification when a task is created and assigned to the Team/Worktray.

Below is a list and description of individual User Experience Preferences:

  • Remember My Grid Preferences: This preference must be set to 'yes' in order to save dashboard view preferences even after logging out and back into PensionPro. If this preference is set to 'no', the preferences will refresh each time the page is reloaded.
  • Grid Display Density: This preference controls the display density for grids within PesionPro. The Regular view will have less rows and more spacing, whereas the Compact view will have more rows with less spacing.

 

Feature feedback