PensionPro 2.0 - Terminating and Rehiring an Employee

If an employee leaves the firm and will not have any further access to PensionPro, users will need to change security settings in the system to remove the employee's access both to PensionPro and PlanSponsorLink.com. This article describes the process to terminate and rehire employees in PensionPro.

 

Tier Availability: All Product Tiers

Security Rights Required: Add/Edit Employee, Add/Edit Contact

 

Menu:

 

Employees cannot be completely removed from PensionPro.

Before users mark an employee as terminated in PensionPro, they will need to reassign any active Tasks and Employee Plan Role assignments to other employees. Reassignment can be accomplished through the Project/Task Assignments Power Tool.

For assistance with the Task Assignments Power Tool, view the Using Power Tools Article.

Prior to terminating an employee in PensionPro, any Proposals assigned to the employee should also be reassigned to another employee. After reassigning any assigned Proposals, users should remove the employee's Security Rights and Help Center access. After removing Security Right and Help Center access, users may remove the Active status to reflect that the employee is no longer active. 

 

Remove Security Rights or Security Roles

Users may wish to remove any Security Rights prior to terminating an employee. To do so, users should click the Security Rights tab on the General Employee Information screen and complete the following:

Remove Security Rights

  1. Click the Edit icon to the right of the Security Rights grid.
  2. Click the X icon located to the right of each Security Right to be removed.
  3. Click Save.

Remove Security Roles

Tier Availability: Business

Users with Security Role Management can remove Security Roles from employees.

  1. Click the Edit icon to the right of the Security Rights grid.
  2. Select (None) from the Security Role dropdown menu.
  3. Click the X icon located to the right of each Security Right to be removed.
  4. Click Save.

Users with Security Role Management can also remove Security Rights and Roles from an employee via Security Management. To do so, users must navigate to the  Security Management tool by clicking Maintenance > Preferences > Security Management. Employee rights and roles can be updated on the Employee Security tab by first highlighting the employee's name and clicking the Edit icon.

 

Removing Active Status for Terminated Employee’s Contact Record

The contact record may be updated to reflect that the user is no longer active. This can be done from the General Employee Information screen.

Update the Contact Record

  1. Click the blue linked name of the Contact under General Employee Information.
  2. Click the Edit icon in the upper right corner of the Contact's General Information Screen.
  3. Uncheck the Active checkbox.
    • Please Note: deactivating an employee's contact record will also deactivate the employee record found on Employee Details if it wasn't deactivated prior.
  4. Click Save.

 

Removing Help Center Access for an Employee

If the Help Center access for a terminated employee should be suspended, please open a ticket and notify our Support team. Provide the name and email address of the employee and our Support team will suspend the user's access to the Help Center.

 

Terminating an Employee 

After reassigning all Active Tasks, Employee Plan Role Assignments and Proposals, as well as removing any Security Rights, the employee can be terminated in PensionPro. 

  1. Navigate back to the General Employee Information screen.
  2. Click the Edit icon on the General Employee Information tab.
  3. Deselect the Active checkbox.
  4. Deselect the Show On PSL checkbox.
  5. Enter the Date of Termination in the DOT field.
  6. Click Save.

Deselecting the Active checkbox will automatically deactivate their password so that they can no longer log in to PensionPro.

 

Re-Activating a Terminated Employee

If a previously terminated employee is not found in the Search tab, they may be inactive. In order to reactivate an employee’s data in the system, do the following:

Re-Activating the Active Status for Terminated Employees

After an employee is terminated from the use of the system, the contact record may be updated to reflect that the user is once again active. To update the Contact Record:

  1. Use the Search bar to search for the employee's name.
  2. In the search results grid, click the Settings (gear) icon.
  3. Edit the preference(s) related to the Contacts search and click Save.
    • The Show Deactivated/Closed preference should be set to Yes in order to see deactivated employees in search results.
  4. Navigate back to the search results, and select Employee's name in the Contact results.
  5. Click the Employee's name link.
  6. Click the Edit icon to the right of the General Employee Information grid. A slider will appear.
  7. Select the Active checkbox.
  8. Edit the Date of Hire (if appropriate) in the DOH field.
  9. Remove the Date of Termination in the DOT field.
  10. Click Save.
  11. Click the Account Tab.
  12. Click the Edit icon and check the Update Password checkbox and click Save. The employee should receive an email from no-reply@apps.pensionpro.com that includes a temporary password they should use when logging into PensionPro.

 

Feature feedback