Follow

Edit Task Summary Information

As users work on a Project Task, a number of things can occur. Due Dates can be pushed back, clients can be non-responsive, or forms need to be filed and accepted. This can change aspects of a Task and it may be important to document this information. Furthermore, if Tasks get assigned to another employee, it may be helpful to display that information so another employee can be aware of where the Task was left. Users can edit Task Summary information to help document that knowledge. Editing Task Summary information allows users to change due dates, follow-up dates, categorization of the Task and even the Task status.

 

Tier Availability: Essential, Premium, Business

Security Rights Required: Add/Edit Project

 

Edit Task Summary Information

The Task Status, Category, and Follow-Up Date fields can be accessed from the Task-level of a launched project. Once the user browses to the Task Details screen of a project, the user can click on the Summary tab to view the Task Summary information.

Edit Summary Information

  1. From the Task Detail > Summary tab, click the Edit button.
  2. On the Edit Tasks popup that appears, users can make changes to the following:
    • Due Date
      • The Due Date is the date the Task is Due to be completed.
      • The user must have the Alter Due Dates Security Right to edit this field.
      • The Task Due Date cannot exceed the Project Due Date.
    • Follow-Up Date
      • The Follow-Up Date is a reference field the user can update to track when they should follow-up on this Task.
      • To add a Follow-Up Date, enter a date in the date field or click the calendar to select a date. 
    • Category
      • The Category field allows the user to categorize the Task.
      • To add a Task Category, select a Category from the Category dropdown.
      • Category is a List Value. For more information on List Values and how to update them please review Maintaining List Values.
      • Examples may include: "Compliance Testing," "Forms to be Filed and Accepted," or "Client Outreach."
    • Task Status
      • The Task Status field allows the user categorize the status of the Task in a customizable way to document more information about the status of the Task.
      • To add a Task Status, select a Task Status from the dropdown menu.
      • Task Status is a List Value. For more information on List Values and how to update them please review Maintaining List Values.
      • Examples may include: "Client Call Scheduled," "Waiting for Client Response," or "Project on Hold."
  3. Click Save.

Each of these fields can be selected as an available column on Dashboards or Worktrays for reference. Blast Email also includes these fields as merge fields under Tasks when filtering on the Recipients tab.

Note: Setting a Task Status to "Completed" or "Complete" will not complete the Task and activate the next Task in the project. This is a reference only field and does not affect the completion of the Task.

 

Adding the Task Summary Fields to the Dashboard or Worktray

To add the new fields to the Dashboard and to permanently save the customized view, follow the steps below.  

  1. Click the Options button located at the top right corner of the Dashboard. A column selection box will appear.
  2. In the column selection box will be a selection of available columns to add, subtract or reorder on the dashboard.  Click on an item in the available columns list and click the right arrow to move it to the selected columns list.
  3. To remove a column, click on the selected columns list and click the left arrow button.
    • To change the order in which the columns are displayed:
      1. Click on the column in the selected columns row.
      2. Using the up and down arrows, move columns into the order desired.
  4. Click the "Save as Custom" button at the bottom for the column selection box. After saving, the column selection box will remain on the page.
  5. Select the dropdown menu at the top of the column selection box.  Change the selection from Standard-Default to Custom.
  6. Click "Set as Default" to the right of the "Custom" box to display this dashboard view as a default for this user.
  7. Click the Options button to hide the column selection box from view.

 

 

 

 Feature feedback

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments