Follow

Using Firms and Locations

The information in this article describes how users can update and maintain firm and location options within PensionPro.

Tier Availability: Core, Essential, Premium, Business

Add-On Availability: API, PlanSponsorLink

Security Rights Required: Maintenance 

Firm information and locations can be viewed and edited from the Maintenance Menu. To access Firms and Locations from the Application Menu click on Maintenance > Firms/Locations. The information contained in this menu item are the firm name, location information including address, numbers, and employees both active and inactive as well as the API (if applicable), PSL URL, and firm logo.

Menu:

Firm Information

Locations

 

Firm Information

Only one firm may be created per instance of PensionPro, and it is created during a firm’s initial implementation process. 

 

Edit the Firm's Information

The firm name can be edited by clicking on the Edit button next to the Firm Name dropdown menu. The Company Details record for the firm will open. Here the user can then change the name of the Firm, add/edit/delete addresses, phone numbers, and edit employees both active and inactive.

Firm API Key

If the Tier the user is on supports access to the API, or the firm has purchased the API Add-In, then in Firms/Locations the Firm's API Key field will show. The user can click on the API key to show the alpha-numeric characters or click on Generate API Key to generate the key that will need to be entered in the login of the API site.

 

Edit the PSL URL 

The URL for PlanSponsorLink can be edited by clicking on the PSL URL field and entering the new URL. Once the new URL has been entered, click Save and Verify PSL URL. If the URL already exists the user will receive an error. If it does not exist, it will save. Please use caution, as this will change the URL associated with PlanSponsorLink.

 

Update the Firm’s Logo

At the bottom of the Firms/Locations page, users will see a section displaying the Firm’s Logo. The Firm logo is the image that will appear on reports and the PlanSponsorLink.com website. Users can upload and update their firm’s internal logo when needed.

To update the logo for the firm:

  1. Click on the Edit button on the upper right side of the firm logo screen from the Firms/Locations tab. 
  2. Browse for the new logo and select it and click on Open. 
  3. Logos must be a .jpg, .png, or .gif. 
  4. Please make sure the width is less than 400 pixels and the height is less than 200 pixels. 

 

Locations

Multiple Locations are not available in PensionPro Track or Team. Whenever a Client is created in PensionPro, that Client must be associated with a Location. Locations act as a security right so that only employees assigned to the corresponding Location right can see Clients and Plans linked to that Location. As Clients are associated with a single location, employees can be associated with one or multiple locations. This allows users to tailor their Client and Plan structure to the internal security needs of their firm. Employee Location rights also determine what data what an employee is permitted to view when running reports in PensionPro. Although Locations can limit the Client and Plan records an Employee has access to view, all contacts and company name records can be viewed regardless of Location rights.

 

Add Location Rights

Security Rights Required: Add/Edit Employee

  1. Click on the Company Directory to the left of the screen.
  2. Double-click on an employee's name.
  3. Click on the Locations tab.
  4. Click the Add button.
  5. Select a Location from the Location dropdown menu.
  6. Click Save.
  7. Have the employee click Application > Refresh Security. 

 

Delete Location Rights

Security Rights Required: Add/Edit Employee

  1. Click on the Company Directory to the left of the screen.
  2. Double-click on an employee's name.
  3. Click on the Locations tab.
  4. Click once on a Location on the Employee Location Rights grid to highlight it.
  5. Click the Delete button.
  6. Click "Yes" to confirm deletion.
  7. Have the employee click Application > Refresh Security. 

 

Maintain Locations

Locations can be accessed by clicking Maintenance > Firms\Locations. Available Locations will appear below the Location Names grid. A Location name can be edited by clicking the Edit button located to the right of a location. A Location can also be marked for deletion by clicking the Edit button next to a Location name from the Firms/Location page. 

 

Edit Location Details

Users can edit a Location by double-clicking a Location name from the Locations list grid. Double-clicking a Location name will direct the user to the Location Details screen. The Location Details screen is separated into General and Employees tabs. The General tab records location addresses and phone numbers.

To add an address or number of a location:

  1. Click Maintenance > Firms/Locations.
  2. Double click on a Location name to open the Location record. 
  3. Click the Add button for Addresses or Numbers. A slider will appear.
  4. Fill out the required information on the Add Address or Add Numbers slider and click Save when complete.

To edit an address or number of a location:

  1. Click Maintenance > Firms/Locations.
  2. Double click on a location name to open the location record. 
  3. Highlight the address or number to be edited and click the Edit button. A slider will appear.
  4. Fill out the required information on the Edit Address or Edit Numbers slider and click Save when complete.

To delete an address or number of a location:

  1. Click Maintenance > Firms/Locations.
  2. Double click on a location name to open the location record. 
  3. Highlight the address or number to be removed and click the Delete button.
  4. Click Yes to confirm the deletion. 

 

Maintain Employee Locations

The Location Details screen displays a list of all employees associated with a location on the Employees tab. The system defaults to show only active employees. To view all employees, both active and terminated, click on the Show All box in the bottom right corner of the screen. Employee records can also be accessed from this screen by double-clicking on the employee name to open it.

To add an employee to a location:

  1. Click Maintenance > Firms/Locations.
  2. Double click on a location name to open the location record.
  3. Click the Employees tab.
  4. Click the Add Button. A pop-up window will appear.
  5. Select the employee’s name and location from the dropdown menus.
  6. Click Save when complete.

To edit an employee location association:

  1. Click Maintenance > Firms/Locations.
  2. Double click on a location name to open the location record.
  3. Click the Employees tab.
  4. Highlight an employee’s name and then click the Edit button. A pop-up window will appear.
  5. Edit the employee’s name and location from the dropdown as needed.
  6. Click Save when complete.

To delete an employee from a location:

  1. Click Maintenance > Firms/Locations.
  2. Double click on a location name to open the location record.
  3. Click the Employees tab.
  4. Highlight an employee’s name and then click the Delete button.
  5. Click Yes to confirm deletion.

 

Delete a Location

To delete a location, all addresses, phone numbers, and employees will need to be deleted from the location and disassociate any clients. 

  1. Click Maintenance > Firms/Locations.
  2. Double-click on the location name, and delete all addresses and locations by clicking the Delete button next to the entry. 
  3. Click on the Employees tab and delete any employees from the location by clicking the Delete button next to their names. (Please note that this will not delete the employee from Workflow - it will only delete from that location.) 
  4. Finally, disassociate any clients tied to that location.  To find a complete list of clients associated with that location, run the report under List Reports titled, "Clients."

Once this information has been removed, the location will appear in the data deletion menu. To access the data deletion menu, go to Maintenance > Data Deletion and select Location from the dropdown. Find the location name and click the Delete button to delete it.

 

 

 

 Feature feedback

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments